Most helpful review
New Reviewer

Due to my account

I have been working with this all day trying to get the help I paid money for this program and right now I feel like I lost $21 because I have been asking for help the email that I use for this account does not work Ive been trying to reset the email the email that theyre sending me it does not work I cant reach anybody Im sorry and I know your program help others right now I feel so helpless I am 64 years old I dont know much about the computer I have no one to help me and I paid for this program and I cant get anyone to help me

User's recommendation: I am just on satisfied right now with the help that I have not been getting.

View full review
ID
#3702182 Review #3702182 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Mobile, Alabama
Loss
$21
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

General info

I didn't get a chance to even speak with a person. Just a robot. It told me to email them. I have emailed them a month ago and no answer.

User's recommendation: I don't know, they might help you.

View full review
ID
#2701082 Review #2701082 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Thought of a caring
  • Modest
  • Make it seem as if theres a chance
Cons
  • Promised help that has not come
  • Did not respond when i tried to contact them
  • Deny so quickly that no human could do that
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Its a SCAM

They refused to help me because I dont make enough money! And as a 50 yo disabled woman who has no chiildren i dont need help they claim. I came to them for help because I am a human trafficking domestic violence victim fleeing to resettle in a safe place and needed funds for that. I was turned away because I dont make enough money from my Social Security check. I

User's recommendation: go some where else for help.

View full review
ID
#2640993 Review #2640993 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Thought of a caring
  • Make it seem as if theres a chance
  • Helping people when they need it
Cons
  • How i was treated
  • Being discriminated against
  • Lie about applications
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

GRANT NOT RECIEVED THAT WAS SUPPOSED TO BE MAIL TO LANDLORD

Good day Alexandra I applied and was funded for help 03/10/21 $1,446.00 the check was supposedly sent 03/24/21 to my Landlord @ Saddlebrook Apartment 5353 Keller springs rd. Dallas Tx 75248 as of today, they have never received it, i have been emailing you for months with no reply can you please help me with this matter! this has been so disheartening my# ID on my application was 513329 please help!!!
View full review
ID
#2560386 Review #2560386 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Houston, Texas

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

GRANT NOT RECIEVED THAT WAS SUPPOSED TO BE MAIL TO LANDLORD

Update by user May 06, 2021

i have been emailing for a couple of months with no reply no phone contacts after 3 months donors were kind enough to donate, it was hard enough to ask for help of others , but to be hamulated after receiving funding, but only to turn around and be hamulated again I am so devastated at this time the lowest point in my life due Covid19.

Original review posted by user May 06, 2021
Good day Alexandra I applied and was funded for help 03/10/21 $1,446.00 the check was supposedly sent 03/24/21 to my Landlord @ Saddlebrook Apartment 5353 Keller springs rd. Dallas Tx 75248 as of today, they have never received it, i have been emailing you for months with no reply can you please help me with this matter! this has been so disheartening my# ID on my application was 513329 please help!!!
View full review
ID
#2538374 Review #2538374 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Donnor provide small dollar grents
Cons
  • Will not respond
Loss
$144600
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Resolved: They Are Unethical

Update by user Mar 23, 2021

I consider it resolved because I don't expect them to apologize and now I don't care..

Original review posted by user Mar 23, 2021
I submitted an application for assistance with my need. I wrote a detailed bio just like they required. I explained the circumstances of my need. After submission, they took it upon themselves to rewrite my bio without notifying me, without asking me, and changed the...
View full review
View full review
Resolved
ID
#2471367 Review #2471367 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Apology
New Reviewer

Complete waste of time

Before you humble yourself and give Modest Needs your personal information do some research. I was filling out an application for help with rent. As soon as I finished uploading all of the things they requested my application came back immediately as denied. Which makes me think that a bot reviewed my information There is no way to contact them. Their contact page has several links but none of them work. So if you give the wrong information or are missing something they will deny you. Be careful when using this site, I'm begging to think that the whole thing is scam.

User's recommendation: Don't waste your time or think twice before giving then your docuents.

View full review
ID
#2188998 Review #2188998 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Thought of a helping hand
Cons
  • Deny so quickly that no human could do that
  • Bots denying application with no way to talk to a person
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Giving them some advice so maybe more people can get help

Giving them some advice so maybe more people can get help I am disabled and also old enough that when I went to school we didnt have computers yet. The application does explain how to upload everything, but people that dont know a lot about computers are done for. I literally spent four days of my vacation trying to upload the documents they needed and to get them on their website. I had no one to help me and If you call them they dont answer and if you email the answers are from the computer and they usually take three days. I was so proud of myself when I completed the application. The application that they recommended I fill out after viewing my registration. After days of hard work and stress about being evicted they turned me down. That I could handle,but it wasnt because of my wages, it was because I got paid a salary I wasnt paid by the hour worker. They are the ones that told me to fill out that grant and then turned me down because it wasnt the right one. I wasted seven days when I couldve been trying other places to get help. I wrote them and told him I was having a hard time and nothing. I finally Had gotten about 10 documents they needed to them on time just to get turned down. So they recommended a different grant for me but I had to start over, which I did. When it came to the part about the documents they wanted me to upload and send the documents again, even though they had them right there from the prior application. I started to do them and I got so anxious and stressed out and literally was having a panic attack. I put my paper down and said forget it. It wasnt worth me getting upset and having a meltdown. It takes a rocket scientist to figure out their application and if I was one I wouldnt have needed their help. So in 2 days my eviction starts. Thanks a lot modern needs

User's recommendation: I guess they do help from what I hear, But if you’re not computer literate then you might want to bring a college professor or someone with you to fill out the applications.

View full review
1 comment
#1927082

It’s not an error it’s being done on purpose. They are stealing information.

ID
#2078227 Review #2078227 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
North Charleston, South Carolina
Loss
$800
Preferred solution
An apology won’t change things, maybe hearing them say that they would consider a easier application for disabled or older people in need that don’t use computers. Or print on the application that if you don’t know how to use a computer then don’t apply b

Denied

I answered all the eligibility questions, they denied me without knowing the entire situation. I live alone and I am unemployed due to medical issues right now, and have been sent an eviction notice. They said one person in household must be employed part-time. I have no where to go, no car, and no money. I was hoping that they would help me keep my home because I am trying and will get back on my feet
View full review
ID
#2047569 Review #2047569 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Helena, Montana

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Cannot access my acount to apply for help

I log in, they say my account is inactive, but it won't allow me to take the steps to activate my account. I received notice that I am being evicted, and I was trying to apply for emergency rent assistance, and I am running out of time!!!
View full review
ID
#2045316 Review #2045316 is a subjective opinion of poster.

AVOID AT ALL COSTS! TOTAL SCAMMERS

I applied for help after swallowing my pride and asking for help. It's amazing how similar the stories are to so many others who have written online... I submitted all documents to support my request for mortgage help due to family funeral expenses. No matter what I submitted, it just wasn't good enough. I submitted a bill showing my mortgage had doubled. That's the very nature of hardship - you have bills which are behind. Well, I was told my need exceeded what they could offer....Get this: I was told during the preliminary online application that I could qualify for up to $1500. I requested help with just half that amount!!! I didn't want $1500! I suspect this 'foundation' is really a scam. They're not fully staffed day and night and can't take calls because they're a boiler room type operation i'm guessing. Please don't send any bank statements to them. Now that I have sent private information, I worry about misuse. Getting my bank accounts changed today.
View full review
ID
#1807251 Review #1807251 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Baltimore, Maryland

Snooty customer service

Their application process questions are tricky. I am self employed, NOT part time or full time employed. There is a big difference. However, there is no where to explain that on the application. I was rejected because my AGI was too "low", huh? When you're self employed, you write off EVERYTHING so you can stay afloat. Anyway, I called to explain my situation and the woman I spoke to had a very snooty attitude as though she's tired of answering these questions. I hate to break it to her, but it is a supposed "foundation" and they should try and be a little sensitive to people's needs when calling. Total turn off.
View full review
ID
#1736326 Review #1736326 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Snooty attitude from customer service
  • Application process not specific enough

Snooty receptionist

Their application process questions are tricky. I am self employed, NOT part time or full time employed. There is a big difference. However, there is no where to explain that on the application. I was rejected because my AGI was too "low", huh? When you're self employed, you write off EVERYTHING so you can stay afloat. Anyway, I called to explain my situation and the woman I spoke to had a very snooty attitude as though she's tired of answering these questions. I hate to break it to her, but it is a supposed "foundation" and they should try and be a little sensitive to people's needs when calling. Total turn off.
View full review
ID
#1736319 Review #1736319 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Snooty attitude from customer service

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

It is outright scam, don't do it everyone! They Suck!!!

I filled out my application and gave them all my necessary docs. they told to give them and they denied my fund request.. They misled me to believe that my type of need would qualify for their funding.. They need to held accountable for their actions. They are Scam artists!! Ugh!
View full review
ID
#1712896 Review #1712896 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
National Funding Loan
Pros
  • Make it seem as if theres a chance
Cons
  • Get your info deny you for help then spam you for donations
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

If all the reviews I've read are correct, why is this company still doing business?

I was going to apply but thought better of it after reading some reviews.
View full review
1 comment
#1788745

Then dont review it then

ID
#1712129 Review #1712129 is a subjective opinion of poster.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Don't it's a scam!!!!!!

Update by user Nov 16, 2019

If I hadn't paid myself I would have lost the opportunity to renew my career.

Original review posted by user Nov 16, 2019
This company took all my information my driver's license has our social number copies of my bank statement and of the income that we had I. I told him I need the money by certain date it did not arrive by that date.My husband and I went ahead and paid for it then I got the check I sent the check to the place that I was supposed to send it to and it bounced I got a letter yesterday that it was insufficient funds so people please I'm telling you be careful.
View full review
ID
#1709354 Review #1709354 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Modest Needs Foundation Website
Reason of review
Problems with payment
Loss
$186
Preferred solution
There is none

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article