Corina W Gab

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Denied

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
So our family qualified and applied after being pre qualified well today we found out we were denied. I suspect Mosest Needs doesnt actually help anyone! Please save yourself from giving them your personal information because I have yet to hear anyone actually receive any help from them. Even friends applied and got denied. This charity is most likely a scam.
View full review
Loss:
$1700
Pros:
  • Online application
Cons:
  • Do not actually help but they do ask for a lot of personal information

Preferred solution: The help requested

Crystal H Tpy

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Disappointed

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Modest Needs Foundation - Disappointed
Don't go here if you are in dire need...I know most end up here because they are desperate but don't bother...it's obviously a scam if you can't proceed with application because you " dont make enough" ...I make 11,000 but their bracket was 28,000-35,000 and I don't qualify??? I also submitted tax return info instead of a bank account so non desirable for TWO reasons...not enough to STEAL and no way to STEAL it. Won't last long ...I'm creating a blog and go after ALL of these sites that prey on those of us in need...
View full review

Preferred solution: They need to delete this site....... disabled people try to use this for help. They need to be sued.

User's recommendation: Don't bother

Vickie P Ruu
map-marker Mobile, Alabama

Due to my account

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I have been working with this all day trying to get the help I paid money for this program and right now I feel like I lost $21 because I have been asking for help the email that I use for this account does not work Ive been trying to reset the email the email that theyre sending me it does not work I cant reach anybody Im sorry and I know your program help others right now I feel so helpless I am 64 years old I dont know much about the computer I have no one to help me and I paid for this program and I cant get anyone to help me
View full review
Loss:
$21

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: I am just on satisfied right now with the help that I have not been getting

Elizabeth W Sdf

General info

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I didn't get a chance to even speak with a person. Just a robot. It told me to email them. I have emailed them a month ago and no answer.
View full review
Pros:
  • Thought of a caring
  • Make it seem as if theres a chance
  • Modest
Cons:
  • Deny so quickly that no human could do that
  • Take your personal information and poor customer service
  • Did not respond when i tried to contact them

Preferred solution: Let the company propose a solution

User's recommendation: I don't know, they might help you

Faith L Bhb

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Its a SCAM

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
They refused to help me because I dont make enough money! And as a 50 yo disabled woman who has no chiildren i dont need help they claim. I came to them for help because I am a human trafficking domestic violence victim fleeing to resettle in a safe place and needed funds for that. I was turned away because I dont make enough money from my Social Security check. I
View full review
Pros:
  • Helping people when they need it
  • Thought of a caring
  • Make it seem as if theres a chance
Cons:
  • Did not respond when i tried to contact them
  • How i was treated
  • Being discriminated against

Preferred solution: Deliver product or service ordered

User's recommendation: go some where else for help.

CEASAR J

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

GRANT NOT RECIEVED THAT WAS SUPPOSED TO BE MAIL TO LANDLORD

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user May 06, 2021

i have been emailing for a couple of months with no reply no phone contacts after 3 months donors were kind enough to donate, it was hard enough to ask for help of others , but to be hamulated after receiving funding, but only to turn around and be hamulated again I am so devastated at this time the lowest point in my life due Covid19.

Original review May 06, 2021
Good day Alexandra I applied and was funded for help 03/10/21 $1,446.00 the check was supposedly sent 03/24/21 to my Landlord @ Saddlebrook Apartment 5353 Keller springs rd. Dallas Tx 75248 as of today, they have never received it, i have been emailing you for months with no reply can you please help me with this matter! this has been so disheartening my# ID on my application was 513329 please help!!!
View full review
Loss:
$144600
Pros:
  • Donnor provide small dollar grents
Cons:
  • Will not respond

Preferred solution: Full refund

Resolved
Tina C Xjz

Resolved: They Are Unethical

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Mar 23, 2021

I consider it resolved because I don't expect them to apologize and now I don't care..

Original review Mar 23, 2021
I submitted an application for assistance with my need. I wrote a detailed bio just like they required.

I explained the circumstances of my need. After submission, they took it upon themselves to rewrite my bio without notifying me, without asking me, and changed the details of my circumstances into lies. What they wrote was categorically not true about my situation. In doing so, my bio misrepresented me.

It made me look like a liar. If anyone who knew or recognized me read my profile, they might have read that, and that creates an integrity issue for ME. The fact that they would do this to a person seeking need, the fact that they would cross ethical lines-- where else do they make compromises and unethical decisions?? And when I called them out on this, they just ignored me.

I asked them to withdraw my application and what did they do? Send me an autoreply email DUMPING ME. No apology!

SHADY. CAN'T BE TRUSTED.
View full review

Preferred solution: Apology

User's recommendation: Do Not Ask Them for Assistance. Do Not Donate to Their Foundation.

Anonymous
map-marker Houston, Texas

GRANT NOT RECIEVED THAT WAS SUPPOSED TO BE MAIL TO LANDLORD

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Good day Alexandra I applied and was funded for help 03/10/21 $1,446.00 the check was supposedly sent 03/24/21 to my Landlord @ Saddlebrook Apartment 5353 Keller springs rd. Dallas Tx 75248 as of today, they have never received it, i have been emailing you for months with no reply can you please help me with this matter! this has been so disheartening my# ID on my application was 513329 please help!!!
View full review
Ann I Bcn

Complete waste of time

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Before you humble yourself and give Modest Needs your personal information do some research. I was filling out an application for help with rent. As soon as I finished uploading all of the things they requested my application came back immediately as denied. Which makes me think that a bot reviewed my information There is no way to contact them. Their contact page has several links but none of them work. So if you give the wrong information or are missing something they will deny you. Be careful when using this site, I'm begging to think that the whole thing is scam.
View full review
Pros:
  • Thought of a helping hand
Cons:
  • Bots denying application with no way to talk to a person
  • Deny so quickly that no human could do that

Preferred solution: Let the company propose a solution

User's recommendation: Don't waste your time or think twice before giving then your docuents

Sharon B Gwk

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker North Charleston, South Carolina

Giving them some advice so maybe more people can get help

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Giving them some advice so maybe more people can get help I am disabled and also old enough that when I went to school we didnt have computers yet. The application does explain how to upload everything, but people that dont know a lot about computers are done for. I literally spent four days of my vacation trying to upload the documents they needed and to get them on their website. I had no one to help me and If you call them they dont answer and if you email the answers are from the computer and they usually take three days. I was so proud of myself when I completed the application. The application that they recommended I fill out after viewing my registration. After days of hard work and stress about being evicted they turned me down. That I could handle,but it wasnt because of my wages, it was because I got paid a salary I wasnt paid by the hour worker. They are the ones that told me to fill out that grant and then turned me down because it wasnt the right one. I wasted seven days when I couldve been trying other places to get help. I wrote them and told him I was having a hard time and nothing. I finally Had gotten about 10 documents they needed to them on time just to get turned down. So they recommended a different grant for me but I had to start over, which I did. When it came to the part about the documents they wanted me to upload and send the documents again, even though they had them right there from the prior application. I started to do them and I got so anxious and stressed out and literally was having a panic attack. I put my paper down and said forget it. It wasnt worth me getting upset and having a meltdown. It takes a rocket scientist to figure out their application and if I was one I wouldnt have needed their help. So in 2 days my eviction starts. Thanks a lot modern needs
View full review
Loss:
$800

Preferred solution: An apology won’t change things, maybe hearing them say that they would consider a easier application for disabled or older people in need that don’t use computers. Or print on the application that if you don’t know how to use a computer then don’t apply b

User's recommendation: I guess they do help from what I hear, But if you’re not computer literate then you might want to bring a college professor or someone with you to fill out the applications

1 comment
Guest

It’s not an error it’s being done on purpose. They are stealing information.

Yvonne K Bsp

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Cannot access my acount to apply for help

I log in, they say my account is inactive, but it won't allow me to take the steps to activate my account. I received notice that I am being evicted, and I was trying to apply for emergency rent assistance, and I am running out of time!!!
View full review
Anonymous
map-marker Helena, Montana

Denied

I answered all the eligibility questions, they denied me without knowing the entire situation. I live alone and I am unemployed due to medical issues right now, and have been sent an eviction notice. They said one person in household must be employed part-time. I have no where to go, no car, and no money. I was hoping that they would help me keep my home because I am trying and will get back on my feet
View full review
Anonymous
map-marker Baltimore, Maryland

AVOID AT ALL COSTS! TOTAL SCAMMERS

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I applied for help after swallowing my pride and asking for help. It's amazing how similar the stories are to so many others who have written online... I submitted all documents to support my request for mortgage help due to family funeral expenses. No matter what I submitted, it just wasn't good enough. I submitted a bill showing my mortgage had doubled. That's the very nature of hardship - you have bills which are behind. Well, I was told my need exceeded what they could offer....Get this: I was told during the preliminary online application that I could qualify for up to $1500. I requested help with just half that amount!!! I didn't want $1500! I suspect this 'foundation' is really a scam. They're not fully staffed day and night and can't take calls because they're a boiler room type operation i'm guessing. Please don't send any bank statements to them. Now that I have sent private information, I worry about misuse. Getting my bank accounts changed today.
View full review
Anonymous

Snooty customer service

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Their application process questions are tricky. I am self employed, NOT part time or full time employed. There is a big difference. However, there is no where to explain that on the application. I was rejected because my AGI was too "low", huh? When you're self employed, you write off EVERYTHING so you can stay afloat. Anyway, I called to explain my situation and the woman I spoke to had a very snooty attitude as though she's tired of answering these questions. I hate to break it to her, but it is a supposed "foundation" and they should try and be a little sensitive to people's needs when calling. Total turn off.
View full review
Cons:
  • Application process not specific enough
  • Snooty attitude from customer service
Elizabeth D Zdc

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

It is outright scam, don't do it everyone! They Suck!!!

I filled out my application and gave them all my necessary docs. they told to give them and they denied my fund request.. They misled me to believe that my type of need would qualify for their funding.. They need to held accountable for their actions. They are Scam artists!! Ugh!
View full review
Pros:
  • Make it seem as if theres a chance
Cons:
  • Get your info deny you for help then spam you for donations
Reason of review:
Poor customer service

Preferred solution: Deliver product or service ordered

Virginia B Dyc

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Don't it's a scam!!!!!!

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Nov 16, 2019

If I hadn't paid myself I would have lost the opportunity to renew my career.

Original review Nov 16, 2019
This company took all my information my driver's license has our social number copies of my bank statement and of the income that we had I. I told him I need the money by certain date it did not arrive by that date.My husband and I went ahead and paid for it then I got the check I sent the check to the place that I was supposed to send it to and it bounced I got a letter yesterday that it was insufficient funds so people please I'm telling you be careful.
View full review
Loss:
$186
Reason of review:
Problems with payment

Preferred solution: There is none

About

Summary

Modest Needs Foundation is a non-for-profit, charitable organization, exempt from federal income tax in the United States, operates primarily as an on-line entity. Modest Needs is an award-winning public charity that works to stop the cycle of poverty before it starts for the low-income workers. The company was founded in 2002. The company is empowering compassionate members of the general public to safely and securely help hard-working, low-income households to afford the kinds of short-term emergency expenses such as the unexpected car repair, the unanticipated visit to the doctor, or the unusually large heating bill, for example. Through its unique Non-Profit Grant program, the company simultaneously empowers donors to invest directly in small non-profit organizations.

Modest Needs Foundation reviews and complaints

Modest Needs Foundation is ranked 62 out of 1298 in Non Profit Organizations category

Area Served

USA

Payment Methods

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article